The Women’s Golf Nowra and Golf NSW Medal events had to be postponed from 4th April because of inclement weather. It was quite a contrast in conditions today with a summer like temperature and humidity prevailing. The early morning dew added a degree of difficulty to the game, particularly if you found the rough on the way to the green. The putting was also a problem for most until the sun dried up the moisture. The conditions on the course were reflected in the scores which were generally fairly high.

The best score of the day went to Sue Beazley who claimed her first Division 1 Medal since joining the women’s competition. Sue scored a creditable 91 off the stick to give her a nett 72. Lyn Hatchman scored an honest 76 nett to come in second spot with a nett 76.

Although having suffered from recent back problems, Patricia Austin managed to regain her good form to take out the Division 2 Medal with 104 off the stick to give her a nett 75 whilst Robyn Moore snuck in as runner up with nett 78.

Di Pritchard continues to produce some excellent golf and notched up another  win in Division 3 scoring a nett 74 to claim the Medal and Sandra Rigney claimed the runner up prize scoring a nett 77.

An extra event on the calendar today was the Women’s Golf Illawarra Trophy. This competition is held every year at club level and the successful candidates on the day are the three players with the best nett scores. The Nowra winners are Sue Beazley, Di Pritchard and Patricia Austin. These ladies receive a prize from Golf Illawarra and the right to contend the Illawarra Trophy at the  district tournament at Worrigee Links in October. Well done ladies.

Special Prizes

The Wine Goblet is generously donated each month by Linda Trusler and is presented to the player with the best nett score overall. Sue Beazley was the April recipient with 72 nett.

The Putting Competition was won by Jill Levi with 28 putts.

Scratch Competition – Division 1 – Sue Beazley; Division 2 – Robyn Moore; Division 3 Sandra Rigney.


8th – Division 1, Lyn Hatchman; Divisions 2 and 3 were not awarded.

12th – – Division 1, Lyn Hatchman; Division 2, Val Wilson; Division 3, not awarded.

56 Year Membership

President, Sue Stephens presented a certificate to Janet Priddle in recognition of her continuous membership over the past 56 years. Janet, a former Patron of Women’s Golf Nowra paid tribute to all the good friends that she has made throughout her golfing days. Janet says that she would not have met some of them if she hadn’t played golf. Well done Janet, you have been and remain a treasured club member.

Next Thursday, 25th April is Anzac Day. There will be an 18 hole Women’s Four  Person Hartball Ambrose competition. It will be a shotgun start at 8.30am played from the front 9 tees to enable social golf to also be played.