It was a stunning day from the outset at Nowra Golf Club today. The clear azure sky together with the varied verdant backdrop of the majestic trees and the brilliance of all the golden flowers on the Native Frangipani  and Grevillea Robusta dotted around the course provided an exquisite environment for the second round of the 2020 Club Championships. Adding to all this beauty was the comfort of the pleasant warm temperature which was moderated by a lazy breeze off the river. Later in the morning however, the thermometer reading headed north making conditions a little uncomfortable for the later finishing players.

The warmer conditions it seems were conducive to some hot golf with performance across the field generally showing some improvement in the scores compared to last week. The ball found plenty of energy on the fairways with the run providing better distance and the greens were also fast. However, the course superintendent was extremely considerate this morning in setting up very kind pin placements.

In Division 1 Linda Weatherill played exemplary golf in returning the best scratch score of the day with 88 off the stick with Sue Hunter coming in close behind with 92 scratch. Having the advantage of a higher handicap, Sue was able to reverse the result in the nett competition and clinched the honours scoring a 64 to Linda’s 65. Both these players have been very downhearted about their golf results this year so were more than delighted to finish well today.

The conditions also suited the top two contenders in Division 2 today. Di Pritchard played well beyond her handicap of 40 to come in with 104 off the stick to give her a clear win in the nett competition with 64. The steady Wendy Phillips was too strong in the scratch and claimed the top spot with 100 off the stick which then gave her the runner’s up prize in the nett with a very creditable 69. Well done.

Ball Competition

71 – Lyn Hatchman

72 – Maree McLean, Sue Beazley, Anne Newton, Angela Boadle

73 – Donna Hewat

Nearest to the Pins

8th – Division 1 not awarded; Division 2 Lyn Hatton.

17th – Division 1 Robyn Moore; Division 2 Betty Tucker.

Next week is the final round of the 54 hole championship. Stay cool and focused but more importantly have fun.