The pressure was off today  with the offering of the first team event since the “golf lock down” earlier this year. After weeks of stroke events in order to catch up on our Monthly Medals, of Par rounds and Single Stablefords, it appears that everyone heaved a sigh of relief to be able to count on a partner when the going got tough in one’s game. There was an atmosphere of joviality around the course with congratulatory shouts of cheer being heard on the sinking of a gobbler or sensational putt and plenty of laughter to go around too.

Of course the stunning weather added to the ambience of the day – the warmth of the sunshine on our backs, the cloudless cerulean coloured sky, the stillness of the air and the chirping of the bird life created an almost relaxed “holiday” feeling. It was obvious that all these favourable factors suited the majority of the field as the returned scores were the best seen in women’s golf lately.

Sue Beazely made a comeback today in a big way when she teamed up with Leanne Robson. An incredibly solid performance earned them the top trophy position with a sensational score of 51 points!! This was eight points ahead of the next pair of Linda Weatherill and Cathy Ison who could be excused for thinking they had a winning chance with an excellent result of 43  points. Linda and Cathy were able to claim the second spot on a count back from Marj Burns and Margaret Ford who also clocked up 43 points.

Ball Competition

Sandra England and Lyn Hatton 39 points

Gloria Davis and Linda Trusler 39 points

Fay Wright and Donna Hewat 39 points

Shirley Moore and Ellen Ryan 38 points

Important Dates

Sunday 19th July – Keno Mixed 2 Person Ambrose

Thursday 23 July – Keno Women’s 2 Person Ambrose

For both the above competitions there is a $2.50 fee + competition fee.

Players must be members of Nowra Golf Club and have no more than 20 strokes difference in handicap.

Qualifying pairs will attend the Regional Final and the State Final is held at Bonville Golf Resort.

Thursday 13th August – Women’s Golf Nowra Annual General Meeting 2.00pm.